Loksabha Election 2019 Important Highlights & Questions

The Loksabha Election 2019 was held in seven phases from 11th April to 19th May 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha. The counting of votes took place on 23rd May, and on the same day the results were declared.

About 900 million people were eligible to vote and turnout was over 67% the highest ever as well as the highest participation by women voters.

Loksabha Election 2019 Important Highlights

In this post we will see the Important Highlights of Loksabha Election 2019 which are likely to be asked in General Competitive Exams 2019.

Important Highlights of Loksabha Election 2019

← 201411 April – 19 May 20192024 →
← members

543 (of the 545) seats in the Lok Sabha
272 seats needed for a majority

Opinion polls
Turnout67.11% (Increase0.7%)
PM Modi Portrait(cropped).jpgRahul Gandhi (cropped).jpg
LeaderNarendra ModiRahul Gandhi
Leader since13 September 201311 December 2017
Leader’s seatVaranasiWayanad (won)
Amethi (lost)
Last election282 seats, 31.34% (BJP)
336 seats, 38.5% (NDA)
44 seats, 19.52% (INC)
60 seats, 23% (UPA)
Seats won303 (BJP)
352 (NDA)
52 (INC)
91 (UPA)
Seat changeIncrease21 (BJP)
Increase16 (NDA)
Increase8 (INC)
Increase31 (UPA)
Percentage37.43% (BJP)
45% (NDA)
19.51% (INC)
26% (UPA)
Swing6.09%Increase (BJP)
6.5%Increase (NDA)
0.01%Decrease (INC)
3%Increase (UPA)

Indian General Election 2019 by alliance.svg

Results of the election by alliance

Prime Minister before election
Narendra Modi
Subsequent Prime Minister
Narendra Modi

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 303 seats, further increasing its substantial majority and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won 352 seats.

The Indian National Congress party won 52 seats, and the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance won 91. Other parties and their alliances won 99 seats.

Loksabha Election 2019 Important Highlights & Questions
Loksabha Election 2019 Important Highlights & Questions

Legislative assembly elections 2019 in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim were held simultaneously with the general election.

The election schedule 2019 was announced by Election Commission of India (ECI) on 10th March 2019, and with it the Model Code of Conduct came into force.

The election was scheduled to be held in seven phases. In Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, the election was held in all seven phases. The polling for the Anantnag constituency in the state of Jammu and Kashmir was held in three phases due to violence in the region.

Loksabha Election 2019 Important Questions

We are also attaching the pdf of Important Questions on Loksabha Election 2019. These questions will be helpful for the aspirants who are going to appear in upcoming exams like SSC CGL 2018, SSC CHSL 2018, RRB NTPC Exams 2019, RRC Group D Exams 2019, SSC MTS 2018 Exams, SBI, IBPS, LIC ADO Exams 2019 and other sarkari exams.

You can also join us on various social media platforms to get latest updates and study materials about Sarkari Exams.



We hope this article on Loksabha Election 2019 Important Highlights & Questions will be helpful for you. If you have any doubt or issue then please let us know in the comment section.

You can download the pdf of Loksabha Election 2019 Important Questions by clicking on the link given below.



Leave a Comment